Fig. 987.241
Fig. 987.241
Fig. 987.241 Subdivision of Tetrahedral Unity: Octet: Duo-Tet Cube: Rhombic Dodecahedron:
A. Eighth-Octa composed of six asymmetric tetrahedra. Each asymmetric tetrahedron is composed of one A quanta Module and one B Quanta Module. The drawing is labeled to show the relationship of the A Modules and the B Modules. Vertex A is at the center of volume of the octahedron and F is at the surface of any of the octahedron's eight triangular faces.
B. Proximate assembly of Eighth-Octa and Quarter-Tetra to be face bonded together as Octet.
C. Octet: (Oc-Tet = octahedron + tetrahedron.) An Eighth-Octa is face bonded with a Quarter-Tetra to produce the Octet. (See Sec. 986.430.) The Octet is composed of 12 A Quanta Modules and 6 B Quanta Modules. (Compare color plate 22.)
D, E. Duo-Tet Cube: Alternate assemblies of eight Octets from Duo-Tet Cube. Each Duo-Tet Cube = 3- tetravolumes.
F. Rhombic Dodecahedron: Two Duo-Tet Cubes disassociate their Octet components to be reassembled into the Rhombic Dodecahedron. Rhombic Dodecahedron = 6-tetravolumes.

Copyright © 1997 Estate of R. Buckminster Fuller